Review: Twisted Fate by Norah Olson

January 26, 2015 Review 2

Review: Twisted Fate by Norah OlsonTwisted Fate by Norah Olson
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on January 20th 2015
Pages: 272
Source: Katherine Tegan Books Edelweiss
Add on Goodreads
AmazonKoboTBD
My Rating:

When Alyson meets Graham Copeland, the new boy next door, she instantly feels like he’s a kindred spirit—shy and awkward like her, someone who has trouble making friends. It’s impossible to resist having a crush on him.

As usual, her sister, Sydney, sees things differently. In Sydney's mind, Graham's odd personality and secretive past scream psychopath, not sweetheart. Her gut is telling her to stay away from him, and to protect a love-struck Alyson from her own naïveté. But despite her instincts, Sydney is surprised to realize that a part of her is drawn to Graham, too.

And the more Sydney gets to know him, the more she realizes just how right—and wrong—she is about everything.

Perfect for fans of Michelle Hodkin, and E. Lockhart’s We Were Liars, Twisted Fate is an unputdownable novel, teeming with suspense.

 My Thoughts & Review
I was REALLY excited to get started on Twisted Fate as my first debut of the new year. It sounded so intriguing and exactly the type of twisty thriller that keeps me hooked until the end… unfortunately for the wrong reasons.

The characters were just odd, like you know something is off with them from the moment you start reading. The two sisters are two sides of a coin, complete opposites in every way. The parents are just nonexistent and as much as they are mentioned a ton, you hardly get a glimpse of them. I did like Declan and Becky, there were interesting and good friends to Syd but ultimately I didn’t really care about any of the characters which was one of the main issues for me. I like to get attached or feel something for at least one of the characters and I felt nothing here.

There is a lot of point of views here. A police chief (or maybe two now that I think about it), Kim, Graham, Syd, Alyson… Becky… there is probably more, but it was so weird and choppy at times. Not too mention I couldn’t tell a few of the voices apart so I had to look back to see who’s chapter I was reading a few times.

I basically knew what was happening with the ‘twist’ from the first few chapters. I have no idea whether it was supposed to be like that (but something tells me not based on the ending) but that really, really took a huge chunk of enjoyment of the book for me. I essentially wanted to finish it just to see if I was correct. I also thought that the story was really disjointed and there was A LOT of information missing from the overall storyline.

View Spoiler »

For the first time, I’m using .5 of a star. I went over and over what I would rate this book for hours, and ultimately, I didn’t like it enough for it to be 3 stars but it’s not horrible, so I can’t give it 2 stars.

I think this will appeal to a lot of people (especially if you like books like We Were Liars) but unfortunatly it just didn’t work for me.

Lauren

2 Responses to “Review: Twisted Fate by Norah Olson”

  1. Leigh @ Little Book Star

    Aww so sorry you didn’t enjoy Twisted Fate! I could see why you didn’t though. For me, if you guessed the twist, that takes out the fun = low rating. That was my situation with Red Queen. I saw the twist coming from a mile away which is why I gave it 3.5 stars. For Twisted Fate, I didn’t see the twist coming so I was mindblown when I read the last page.
    Leigh @ Little Book Star recently posted..Review: Red Queen (Red Queen #1) by Victoria AveyardMy Profile

    • Lauren

      I agree Leigh, it’s the same for me… if I guess the twist it kind of takes the fun out of it for me. I’m so happy you didn’t see the twist coming for Twisted Fate – I think it would be so enjoyable if you were totally surprised at the end!!!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge